Today is Hero Day.

You see, tomorrow I will celebrate the 6th anniversary of my bone marrow transplant and I know that there will be a steady cry of “hurrah” and “yahoo” and other shouts of celebration sent my way. But the truth is, I didn’t do this alone.

Truly.

I can’t even begin to mention you all by name, but if your eyes are within the reach of these words, know that you are one of my heroes. In your own unique and individual way, you have stood by my side and carried me (when necessary) to where I am today.

Lately, I have been remembering back to Sunday mornings when, as a family, we would come together to meet with our faith community. From the stage, the worship team would lead us in songs of joyful celebration giving thanks to God Most High. Unable to stand I would silently sing at the top of my lungs “Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his faithful love endures forever.” (Psalm 118:1) And together our voices and silent cries would mingle in a chorus of Hallelujah’s that reached to the heights of heaven and transported me to the feet of Jesus. I couldn’t have done that on my own. We needed each other, and I would suggest that we need each other still.

From the depths of my heart (which continues to beat all on it’s own), THANK YOU.

Each one of you is a hero in your own way and much-deserving of a day of celebration. Today is that day and I celebrate you.

With triumphant joy,

Heather

p.s. There’s a song that I’ve been listening to by Mark Schultz and it perfectly articulates what you, as my heroes have done during this time.

 Lift Up Your Hands (When You Can’t)

Well I know that your heart is past broken

And it feels like you’ve got nothing left

And you can’t find your song ‘cuz you can’t even speak

You’re just trying to take the next breath

 

So let me stand up and sing of his goodness

Let me lift up a song in your place

‘Cuz I know that He’ll always be with us

Even when we can’t see His face

I’m gonna sing to the One who is Faithful

Though the battle is not over yet

And I’ll be your voice till you’re

And I’ll lift up you’re hands when you can’t

 

One day I’ll walk though the shadows

Too weary and worn out to stand

And I’m gonna need you beside me

To lift up this song once again

(chorus)

Hallelujah, thank him for all that he’s done

Hallelujah, thank him for what is to come

Hallelujah, thank him for all that he’s done

Hallelujah, thank him for what is to come.

(chorus)

