God’s Handiwork

(This post goes hand in hand with the last post Borrowed Time. If you haven’t read it yet, take some time to do that first.)

For we are God’s handiwork, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do. (Ephesians 2:10 NIV). This word handiwork has also been translated masterpiece or workmanship. Say this out loud with me: I am God’s handiwork. I am God’s masterpiece. I am God’s workmanship.

Do you know what this means? God planned you! He designed you! He carefully and deliberately designed you on purpose and with intention. There is nothing about who you are that went unplanned or unnoticed by God. In creating you, in creating me, God was creating a masterpiece. You and I, we are not forgotten drawings or unfinished sketches that God hastily scratched on the back of a napkin over dinner. We were not carelessly doodled while God thought about something else or solved someone else’s problem.

I shared part of Psalm 139 in my last post, Borrowed Time. Here’s another taste…

For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. (Psalm 139:13 NIV)

Now, these words might not mean anything to you, but this is a powerful image to me. You see I’m a knitter. One of the things that I love about knitting is that it all starts out the same: with a ball of yarn and a set of needles. From here, anything is possible. Mittens. Scarves. Hats. Toys. Sweaters. Socks. Blankets. The possibilities are endless. To begin, I choose my pattern, select my wool and needles and start to cast on stitches. And then, one by one, stitch by stitch, row on row a piece of knitted fabric starts to form. Something from nothing. Created by my own hands. Slowly, thoughtfully, with purpose.

Just think about it for a minute. God knit me together, knit you together. And just as I carefully choose each pattern and wool, God carefully put thought into who you are, who I am and who we would become. He chose the colour of my eyes, the freckles on my face, the number of hairs on my head. No one is just like me. No one is just like you. We are each one of a kind. A carefully-crafted-hand-knit human being. Created in the image of God himself, God’s own handiwork. Isn’t that CRAZY?

You are a masterpiece, God’s masterpiece! His handiwork! His workmanship! Soak that in for a moment. (I’ll wait…). Isn’t that awesome? AWESOME!

Question: If we all believed that is true about ourselves and others, that we really are God’s Masterpiece, then how would we see ourselves and others differently?

With joy,
Heather

