Dear Family and Friends,

It’s been a while since my last post and truly, there wasn’t much to report.  The treatment that I was on had good results and we continue to wait over the next few months to see what types of lasting effects it will have produced. I have had a few CT scans to begin to monitor what the treatment has already started to do and many of the nodules have been reduced and continue to shrink.  There is still that one nodule that continues to baffle each of my doctors (the oncology team, infectious disease and lung doctors).  Yesterday when I saw Dr. Kurvella he reminded me that I have always been in the habit of keeping them on their toes and this thing in my lungs proves no different.  He has suggested that we consider an open lung biopsy in order to get definitive results about what it is they are dealing with.  In the next few days he will confer with the other doctors to see if they agree with this plan.  Dr. K reminded me that without knowing with absolute certainty what this thing is that they are just guessing about how to treat me.  He also said that he was pretty sure that I would want him to suggest treatment options based on fact rather than good guesses.  With tears in my eyes and a smile on my face I said that my heart/emotions would rather that he make good guesses but my mind/thoughts think it would be better to have decisions be made based on certainty.

I must admit this threw me for a bit of a loop.  I had been feeling really good after the treatment at the beginning of the summer.  In fact, I was talking with someone just after my treatments and I surprised myself when he asked “how are you doing these days?” and my answer, without thinking was “GREAT!”  I actually had to take a step back because I don’t remember the last time I could answer that way and have it be true.

Also, I have picked up another infection.  I have a persistant cough from deep in my lungs.  I’m pretty tired and yesterday I was fighting a pretty high fever.

I’m not sure what else to say.  Today I’m doing pretty okay with the news of the possibility of the biopsy.  I go back to the doctors on September 19th and we’ll put together an action plan.

School started this week and I had planned a different beginning to the school year than the one that we are facing as a family.  At the same time, I am convinced of these truths now, more than ever… That God is good. He has a plan for my life.  He loves me, deeply.  He sees me.  He hears me.

With that,

Heather

