This post has been mulling around in my thoughts since last week… Enjoy

We have a young woman from Northern Ireland staying with us right now, a family friend, and last week she had come downtown with us to hang out in Toronto for the day. We met up after the appointments and were deciding how to spend the rest of the day. Our choices were to be tourists in Toronto and catch a Jays game or to head out to Niagara Falls for the afternoon and evening.

We chose Niagara Falls and I’m so glad we did. I’ve only been to Niagara Falls a few times in my life but I am always surprised by the enormity of the Falls and their beauty. After walking by the American Falls and taking all the touristy photos we considered taking a ride on the Maid of the Mist. I’ve always wanted to go on this boat/ride/attraction but I had never had the opportunity to until now. We decided this would be our attraction for the day.

Now we had already seen the beauty and majesty of the Falls from the safety of the roadway but now we were going to venture into the very heart of the rushing water. Dressed in our blue ponchos we were ready for the adventure.

Even as we left the dock I was surprised by the vividness of colour found in the rainbow, at times just parts of a rainbow, at times a full brilliant rainbow and even more than that, at times a full double rainbow. I’ve never seen anything like it. And the rainbows didn’t just stop on top of the water, it was at times as though the rainbows were diving deep into the waters to create a full circle. Perhaps it was just a trick of the eyes but I have a feeling that it was more than that.

My favourite Bible story is that of Noah and the Promise of the Rainbow. I have a house full of Noah’s Arks as a constant reminder to me that God is Faithful and a Keeper of Promises.

As we were heading into the heart of the Falls I spent some time in prayer (with my eyes open since I didn’t want to miss a thing!) starting my prayer Creator God…

The song God of Wonders began to come to mind.

God of all creation
Water, earth and sky
The heavens are your tabernacle
Glory to the Lord on High

God of wonders
Beyond our galaxy
You are holy, holy

The universe declares your majesty
You are holy, holy

***

There I was at the side of the boat, looking at the brilliance of the rainbows, listening to the roar of the water and feeling the coolness of the mist on my face. I was in the middle of my favourite song, the Creation Song, the universe declaring, announcing His majesty. And not just to me but to all who were there around me on the boat, on the shores. There was no escaping this stanza of the Creation Song. Every day, all day announcing, making God known. Now of course not everyone has the eyes to see or the ears to hear this song for what it is but there it was for all to experience. I was in awe.

I was also reminded of Psalm 19:1-6

The heavens declare the glory of God;
the skies proclaim the work of his hands.
Day after day they pour forth speech;
night after night they reveal knowledge.
They have no speech, they use no words;
no sound is heard from them.
Yet their voice goes out into all the earth,
their words to the ends of the world.
In the heavens God has pitched a tent for the sun.
It is like a bridegroom coming out of his chamber,
like a champion rejoicing to run his course.
It rises at one end of the heavens
and makes its circuit to the other;
nothing is deprived of its warmth.

***

I was years ago that I stumbled upon what I call The Creation Song.  I would be driving home after church in the evening on country roads with my windows down and the deafening sound of the crickets and the other night animals made me think about how all creation sings to God.  There are many  variations of this song. Even now I am listening to the early morning chorus of the birds as they sing their part, make their announcement… You are Holy. You are Majestic.  This song always brings a smile to my face and I love hearing new variations of it.  The chorus of the Falls has left me with a strong impression. It won’t be forgotten.

And with that, Heather

