Dear Family and Friends,

I am sending this note to you all because I know you love me/us, care for me/us and pray for me/us regularly.  I am scheduled to have a lung biopsy tomorrow morning at Toronto General Hospital.  I need to be at the hospital early (by 8:00) for bloodwork and then the procedure is scheduled for 9:30.  I will be in hospital for 4-6 hours.

I am having the lung biopsy because the last two CT scans have revealed some nodules that have been growing and both the bmt doctors and the infectious disease doctor don’t know what these are.  The biopsy will give us the answers that we are looking for and give the doctors an action plan.

What is a lung biopsy?  They will take a CT scan, xray or ultrasound of my lungs to get an image and then, using that image as a guide, they will insert a fine needle in order to take a small bit of tissue.  That tissue will be sent to the lab to be analyzed.  The procedure can take 60-90 minutes.  After the procedure I am taken back to the day unit to be monitored and lie down for 1-2 hours. Another chest xray is taken after that.  The info sheet says that complications don’t happen very often.

I want you all to know that I am not worried or scared about this procedure.  That said, I’m not looking forward to it either, but I haven’t spent the last week agonizing over it.  The part that concerns me the most is that I will be awake for the procedure.  Even still, I know that I am in good hands, not only the doctors but God Himself, the One who created me and the One who is my Healer.  I believe in faith that God can heal me completely and that the scan and the tissue could reveal nothing.  That said, my faith in God remains true whatever is revealed.

I have been chatting this week with an old friend and was reminded of these verses in Lamentations 3:22-23

Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.

I had forgotten that the hymn Great is Thy Faithfulness was based on these verses.  What a surprise when we sang this hymn on Sunday morning at church.  “Great is thy faithfulness, Great is thy faithfulness, morning by morning new mercies I see.  All I have needed thy hand has provided, Great is thy faithfulness, Lord unto me.”…

I have also been reflecting on Isaiah 41:10

So do not fear, for I am with you; Do not be dismayed, for I am your God. I will strengthen you and help you; I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

And Isaiah 40 (the whole thing but here’s the highlight…)

Do you not know? Have you not heard? The LORD is the everlasting God, the Creator of the ends of the earth. He will not grow weary, and his understanding no one can fathom.  He gives strength to the weary and increases the power of the weak.  Even youths grow tired and weary, and young men stumble and fall; but those who hope in the LORD will renew their strength.  They will soar on wings like eagles; they will run and not grow weary, they will walk and not be faint.

Thank you for your prayers for me, Jeff and Nathan.

With love and a heart full of joy and thanksgiving,

Heather

