First of all, thank you to everyone who was praying and thinking of Nathan and I as we travelled downtown to my appointment.  Jeff has been really good at training Nathan in how to care for me when we are together and Nathan did a great job keeping me safe and caring for me.

When we arrived at PMH my first stop was Tim Horton’s since there wasn’t time before we left.  The kind cashier handed me both my French Vanilla and a glass of water.  My cough was pretty obvious. I was touched by her thoughtfulness.

I dropped Nathan off at The Magic Castle, which I am so glad that he still loves.  He spends a lot of time there and is well loved and cared for.

After my bloodwork I sat in the BMT waiting room with a mask on my face, coughing up my lungs and blowing my nose.  I was also a weepy mess as I checked emails from you and facebook notes with your thoughts and prayers.  As I said on facebook earlier… I wasn’t surprised that no one wanted to sit very close to me.  I did have one great conversation with a woman (3 month post transplant) and we both walked away very encouraged.

I saw Anna, my Nurse Practitioner (who is soooooooooo great!) and it was decided that on top of the fungal lung infection that I am fighting that I have probably picked up a general cold.  I was given a prescription that should take care of the cold on top of the rest of the meds.

That said, I am still to be monitored closely and so I’ll be making the trip downtown again on Thursday to see the Infectious Disease Doctor and then the BMT doctors on Friday. While it seems like a lot (and it is) I am continually thankful for the care that I receive.  After much discussion last week we are hoping to continue to reduce the high dose of prednisone that I am on, that will be determined on Friday by the bmt doctors. While this drug has good benefits I will be happy to be off of it in the short future.

To top it all off I’ve been reading a book called “When Women Say Yes to God” by Lysa TerKerst.  I am learning a lot and being encouraged.  My heart is swelling with joy. I am overwhelmed with thanksgiving.

Yesterday we welcomed Gemma into our home.  I think Nathan has a new BFF!  He LOVES Gemma.

Continue to pray for us. We know that we are held up only by your prayers and the grace of God.

Love to you all tonight,

Heather

