Dear Family and Friends,

It’s been a long time since my last and one of the most tell tale signs is that my typing is terrible!

I’ll give you the “physical” updates first and then move on to some of the “emotional” and “spiritual” updates.

Most recently I celebrated Day +120 since my transplant.  This was significant and required the doctor to take a bone marrow sample and a sample of my bone.  This is one of my least favourite tests and I must admit that I became very anxious prior to the test.  I hate that this is true because I know that the test is not nearly as terrible as I make it out to be.  I was a good patient in the end (thanks perhaps to the little pill they gave me to calm me down…).  Some other good news is that my 99.5% of my blood cells are being produced by my donor!  At this stage of the game they are looking for at least 98% so I guess I’m still a bit of a “keener”.

I am also continually having my medications reduced and overall, the doctor’s and nurses are happy with my results.  One of my biggest struggles is connected in part with having my medications reduced.  Leaving the hospital I was taking a large dose of prednisone (which causes the puffiness in my cheeks, grrr….) but also has a “alert” effect of the patient.  As we’ve been reducing the dose my body needs to learn to make up that “alertness” on it’s own.  Mostly I have been very tired, more tired than I can ever remember and have really low energy.  There are some days that I have had naps in the morning and for most of the afternoon.  I was also having difficulty sleeping, not because of the naps but just difficulty staying asleep and really shallow sleep.  This side effect has been overwhelming and I’ve certainly slept through a few of our Sunday morning messages.

I have recently started attending a Cancer Support Group at a church in town. The focus of the study is based on Psalm 23: The Lord is my Shepherd.  These verses were very important to me when I was in hospital on some of my loneliest days and so the irony wasn’t lost on me when I found out the theme of the study!  I still have a lot to learn from these verses and even after three weeks I have found friendship and encouragement from the group.

As I mentioned above, one of the things that I am struggling with is my energy levels.  This seems to effect all aspects of living.  Not only do I have low energy but also low motivation.  This is a bad combination.  I am trying to rest when I need it but I am also wanting to guard against depression and laziness.

I think that’s all for this post today.  I know that there were other things that I was going to say but they seem to have slipped my mind for now.  Enjoy Psalm 23 written below.

Psalm 23

A psalm of David.

1 The LORD is my shepherd, I shall not be in want.2 He makes me lie down in green pastures,
he leads me beside quiet waters,

3 he restores my soul.
He guides me in paths of righteousness
for his name’s sake.

4 Even though I walk
through the valley of the shadow of death,
I will fear no evil,
for you are with me;
your rod and your staff,
they comfort me.

5 You prepare a table before me
in the presence of my enemies.
You anoint my head with oil;
my cup overflows.

6 Surely goodness and love will follow me
all the days of my life,
and I will dwell in the house of the LORD
forever.

