Forced isolation is hard. I mean, yes, I know that I signed up for this transplant, but this isolation is hard work.  I’ve talked before that fighting cancer is not just a physical battle but often a mental battle as well.  A battle for my mind.  I have rarely felt that truth so powerfully and completely than during my time here in isolation.

I’m learning a few things about myself too.  I’m learning that I am capable of great courage and strength and I am capable of great fear and uncertainty.  I am capable of great kindness, love and thanksgiving mixed in with great ugliness, lack of motivation and laziness.

So what happens when you look in the mirror and you don’t like what you see?  It’s time to make a change.  Some changes will be easy I hope.  Some changes will be hard.  I’ve learned in my short time here in isolation that God is not only concerned with my health and healing but that He is also concerned with my wholeness and my holiness, in making me more like Him.

I know that this blog is usually reserved for the “rah-rah-sis-boom-bah” Heather but I think that this note is a good reflection on how I’m doing and dealing with my time in isolation.  I’ll be listening a message from the current series at our church called A Normal Christian Life.  This message series began a few weeks back and has been so practical.  You can listen or watch it by following the link above.  James 1:22-25  Do not merely listen to the word, and so deceive yourselves. Do what it says.  Anyone who listens to the word but does not do what it says is like a man who looks at his face in a mirror and, after looking at himself, goes away and immediately forgets what he looks like. But the man who looks intently into the perfect law that gives freedom, and continues to do this, not forgetting what he has heard, but doing it—he will be blessed in what he does.

Thanks for your notes, cards, messages and other ways that you have found to care for my family and I .  We love you!

Heather

