Tomorrow I’m off to check myself in to Hotel Princess Margaret.  I will have a Hickman or central line inserted tomorrow afternoon.  This will assist with IV’s during my stay in hospital and blood draws and will generally make life easier for me.  No more IV’s or poking me with a needle for my blood.

We have been anticipating this day for a long time and we are eager for the transplant on November 18th.  This week will be filled with chemo and radiation to ensure that my own system is ready to receive the new bone marrow next week.

I will be able to accept visitors while I am at Hotel PMH but we have decided that non-family visits will have to wait until after the transplant.  My body and immune system will be so weakened that we don’t want to risk infection by having visitors at that time.  I will write soon about how visits can be arranged, who to contact and the “rules” of visiting me on the transplant floor at PMH.  I know already that I am unable to have flowers in my room so if some of you were thinking of sending flowers in lieu of a visit, please don’t.  They’ll be sent away.  The best way to contact me initially will be through the posts on this blog, by email or by facebook.  Any cards can be sent to the house.  I will do my best to reply to notes but my first priority (of course) will be rest and healing.

I look forward to writing to you from inside the hospital.  Tomorrow’s a big day.  We would value your prayers as we continue on our journey, a journey that started 11.5 years ago with my diagnosis.  Some of you have travelled this road with us since the beginning.  (I remember making all of those phone calls way back when!) And some of you have been walking alongside us for just a little while.  We are so thankful for you all.  We love you and thank God for you!

With joy and thanksgiving,

H.

