As I mentioned in my last post I had a full day of appointments scheduled for Tuesday and two more appointments for today, Wednesday.  Yesterday we left the house at 6:30 am and didn’t get back home until 6:00 at night.  As you can imagine, we were exhausted when we came home. We were back again for more tests this morning and home late afternoon.  We are all tired and glad to be finished with hospital visits until Monday.

Mark your Calendar: The best news of the day was during the appointment with the transplant team where I was given my admittance date and my transplant date.  I will be admitted on Thursday, November 12 and will have a central line put in for blood draws, transfusions and to generally make my life easier.  Over the next few days I will receive pre-transplant chemo.  On November 17th I will have full body radiation in preparation for my transplant day.  My transplant is scheduled for November 18, 2009.

I am both excited/eager and nervous about how quickly my transplant is coming up. We’ve been talking about it for so long that it’s hard to believe that the time is almost here.

When I woke up on Monday morning one of my first thoughts was this verse from the Bible.

Psalm 3:3 But you, O Lord, are a shield around me;  you are my glory, the one who holds my head high.

These words were a comfort to me throughout the day and gave me courage to face “just one more appointment”.  In a humorous way I was reminded of this verse throughout my tests as the dental technicians put a bib (shield) around my neck and the x-ray technicians covered me with the heavy “apron”.  It was a tangible reminder that God was/is with me and protecting me at this time.

With continued joy and thanksgiving,

H.

