It’s been a while, but I’ve got some news.  My pre-stem cell transplant tests are scheduled for next Tuesday and Wednesday.  Tuesday will be a long day and Wednesday just has one appointment. My schedule is as follows:

Tuesday:

8:00 CT Chest/Abdomen/Pelvis (45 minutes)

9:00 Dental Exam (1 hour)

10:15 MUGA Scan (1.5 hours)  This examines my heart functions.

1:30 Clinic Appointment (bloodwork anytime before appointment)

Wednesday:

11:30 Pulmonary Functions Test (45 minutes)

These tests will provide a baseline for the doctors to use as a comparison for all my future tests and for my health/healing post-transplant.  I must admit that while I/we still know that going forward with the bmt is right choice, when I got the news for my tests this week I thought, “whoa, we’re really doing this thing”.

One more thing. Tomorrow morning Jeff and I are meeting with our pastor for prayer.  In the Bible, James (Jesus brother) writes about The Prayer of Faith.  Here’s what he wrote:

Is any one of you in trouble? He should pray. Is anyone happy? Let him sing songs of praise. Is any one of you sick? He should call the elders of the church to pray over him and anoint him with oil in the name of the Lord. And the prayer offered in faith will make the sick person well; the Lord will raise him up. If he has sinned, he will be forgiven. Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous man is powerful and effective.

Over the past 11 years I have been prayed over and anointed with oil at some crucial points in my cancer journey.  I know that there have been times that this act of obedience has led to changes and healing in my body. I know that your prayers have made a difference in my healing too.  I am thankful for you all.

With joy and thanksgiving,

Heather

