Last week Jeff and I met with one of the doctors from the bmt team and based on my scans, blood work and response to chemo (drumroll please) I was accepted into the bmt program.  I think that if you’ve been following along with our story you’ll understand it when I say that we are eager and excited to move forward with the bmt.

So what does that mean?  The bmt offices will contact the donor centre and “activate the donor” which includes making sure that the donor is still willing, available, healthy and eligible to be a donor.  My next contact with the bmt team will be in about 4 weeks and they “invite” me in for a full day of tests.  These tests will provide a baseline as we move forward with the transplant.  In the meantime I am still meeting with Dr. Crump to evaluate my need for further chemotherapy while we wait for the transplant process to begin.

I’ve mentioned it before but if you are interested in becoming a donor, being on the donor list or learning more about what is involved in a bone marrow transplant you can look at www.onematch.ca.

Jeff and I still believe that a bmt is the best option for me and for our family.  Please note, this is not a “last option”, just the best option given my health at the current time.  We are ready to move forward.

Last week as we were heading into a week full of hospital visits, I was reminded of these verses: Exodus 14:13-14 “Do not be afraid. Stand firm and you will see the deliverance the LORD will bring you today. The Egyptians you see today you will never see again. The LORD will fight for you; you need only to be still.”

Moses spoke these words to the Israelites just before they were to cross the Red Sea.  They were scared because Pharaoh’s army was coming after them and the sea was raging ahead of them. In the end they all crossed over on dry land and Pharaoh’s army was all killed in the sea.

Another great story of God’s deliverance is found in 2 Chronicles 20.  I am encouraged and reminded that the decision that Jeff and I have made regarding the bmt has been based on wisdom from God, prayer and conversations with friends and family. These biblical accounts remind me of God’s unchanging character and give me hope as we move forward.

Thanks for moving forward with us,

H.

