Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised. Proverbs 31:30

As I’ve been preparing to lose my hair, I’ve been reflecting on fleeting nature of beauty.  Isn’t it true?  We all get older and our physical appearance starts to change.  Wrinkles, gray hair, thinning hair, and “love handles” are just a few ways that our bodies betray us as we advance in years.  And the health and beauty industry is right there to offer all kinds of solutions with lotions, diets and exercise plans to make us feel better about our aging bodies.

I was watching TV this afternoon and a commercial for Cover Girl came on.  Their spokeswoman, Ellen, starts of the commercial like this:  “Inner beauty is important, but not nearly as important as outer beauty.”  My jaw dropped.  I just watched it again and I’m still stunned.  I realize that she’s trying to sell a product, but I wonder what other messages she’s selling with these words?

Then I found this verse, talking about the Proverbs 31 woman.

She is clothed with strength and dignity; she can laugh at the days to come. Proverbs 31:25

What a woman! I really liked this verse because I hope, in some small way, that I am like her.  She can laugh at the days to come.  I don’t know all of what is around the corner for my family and I (and for those of you who are standing by our side) but I sure hope to face it all with a smile on my face, joy in my heart and a room full of laughter.  Not that nervous laughter that comes from fear but the deep belly laughs that bring cheer to my heart and to those around me, the joy that comes from having this confidence: If God is for us, who can be against us? Romans 8:31

Update: This week has been a bit crazy here at our house.  Monday morning I woke up and felt like someone had poured cement into my lungs while I was sleeping and it was hardening away.  I called my GP and arranged an appointment for Wednesday afternoon.  Well, the appointment didn’t come soon enough and I found myself back at the ER with a temperature of 39.2.  After a good amount of time I was given some antibiotics and sent home.  I was warned by the pharmacist that it would leave a metallic taste in my mouth.  She also suggested eating popsicles, sour candies or other strong flavoured food to mask the taste.  I’ll be trying that as soon as I get myself to the store for some sour keys.  Yuck!

Also, this week I’ve been in bed a lot.  Jeff has picked up the slack and he’s tired too.  I was glad “the boys” took him out for a movie last night as an escape from all his work here at the house.  I’m hoping that my tiredness is just a result of the chest infection (which is clearing up) and that I’ll return to having a bit more energy when it’s cleared up completely.

And, for the big “ta-da”: I went to the salon and had my head shaved.  If I was going to lose my hair anyways, I had decided to lose it all on my own terms.  A few weeks ago Jeff had met with the Manager, Katie, at Salon Chic to have my hair cut and to be pampered a bit.  So, I called on Wednesday morning and booked an appointment.  I arrived and started off with a scalp massage (where I lost obscene amounts of hair) and then a shampoo and condition (where I continued to lose more hair) and then for the cut.  She cut all my hair short to start with and SURPRISE my hair is very curly!  Strange.  Then we moved on to the clippers with a #2 guard.

I must admit that it’s a bit strange to have a shaved head.  I’ve always had A LOT of hair.  The strangest thing is catching sight of my shadow.  My hair continues to fall out and I’ve got a pretty good bald patch at the front.  All in all, I’m still laughing at the days to come.

With laughter in my heart,

H.

