Gray hair is a crown of glory; it is gained by living a godly life. Proverbs 16:31

This is probably one of the best practiced verses in my family. Us Norman’s, we do gray hair really well. And really young.

Grandma and Grandpa Norman, my Dad’s parents had beautiful silvery hair. They had gray hair FOREVER. I’m not even kidding.  My Uncle Bob once said that he couldn’t remember my grandparents with dark hair, ever.  And what about their kids… all gray hair.  The grandkids too.  So believe me,  it was no surprise to me that I would one day follow down the same silvery path.

I remember finding my first gray hair. I was sitting in Sign Language class and “listening” to the teacher. I must have been paying deep attention, because that’s when I found it. I was 16 years old and I knew that it was all downhill from there.

I’ve been thinking a lot about my gray hair in the last year.  This spring I was talking to a friend about making the decision to colour my hair again or just leave it be.  I said that it really just boils down to one question:  “Am I too young to have gray hair?”  I thought about that question for a long time.  The more I thought about it, I had to really wonder, who says that I’m too young? Who determines what is young and what is old?  Who has pushed this idea on our culture?  I’m pretty sure that the beauty industry has had something to do with it.  I’m also pretty sure that God made me this way. I mean, yes, science is involved, my genes determined my gray hair before I even had any hair on my head, but is that all there is to it?  I don’t think so.

The Bible says that gray hair is a Crown of Glory and that it is gained by living a godly life, or attained by righteous living.  Now that makes me think a bit differently about the colour of my hair.

My hair is starting to slowly fall out.  Soon I’ll be bald.  I won’t have to worry about colouring my hair or if I’m too young or old for gray hair.

But my life goal remains the same:  to live a godly life.  If gray hair is attained by righteous living, then I’m going to earn every one!

