Update: It’s day 9 of my 21 day cycle and I’m still feeling pretty good. The strangest thing so far is the change to my taste buds. My food all tastes different but I’ve decided that I’ll have to just get used to it. The other option just leaves me very hungry. I also noticed an increase in my appetite for the first few days, which was surprising to me, but I think that this was a reaction to one of the medications that I was on at the beginning. My hair is starting to fall out, one by one, but I understand that this will increase dramatically over the next few days.

This week the nurses have been coming in to give me a Neupegon injection over the course of 7 days. The nurses and Dr. Crump all suggested that I could learn to do this myself or that Jeff could learn to administer the needle to me. Not being a big fan of needles, and since I love Jeff a whole lot, I decided that if the nurses were happy to come to the house, I was happy to be home each day when they arrived. So far, so good.

Hugs and Kisses: As I reach the middle days of the 21 day cycle, I know that the chemo is at work attacking my blood cells and lowering my immunity to all kinds of health risks. That means that I have become super conscious of hand washing and the potential risks that my environment and other people present to me.

So what does that mean? Well, I had a decision to make. I could decide to either 1) walk around with non-latex gloves and a mask on in all public places, OR 2) I could stop shaking hands and greeting family and friends with a hug and kiss. Both are socially awkward, but wearing gloves and a mask seem a bit over the top for me.  Just try it… Next time when someone leans in for a hug, take a step back and say “I can’t do that.”

Hearth Place: Yesterday we traveled out to Oshawa to visit Hearth Place. This is a Cancer Support Centre that offers a variety of programs including counseling, support groups, yoga, walking classes, children’s groups and a wide variety of programs designed to meet the needs of patients, caregivers and their families. We had a tour of the centre and Nathan was given a care package that included some toys, crayons and colouring book and stickers. Also included in his gift bag was a booklet for children about cancer and a guide for parents as they talk with their kids about the changes that are going on in their family. I’m looking forward to taking some time to look over the resources that are offered at Hearth Place, attending some programs and learning more about how to best talk to Nathan, my nieces and other children (and their parents) who I know that are impacted by my cancer story or a cancer story of their own.

That’s it for tonight. I’m doing my best to enjoy each day with Jeff and Nathan and enjoy living my life.

Love to you all,

H.

