Tomorrow is Day One. My first chemo treatment in preparation for the bmt.

I’m feeling rather small today as I look forward to all that is in front of me and I am reminded of the story of David and Goliath.

David was the little guy. Goliath was over 9 feet tall. When Goliath would come out and call to the Israel army, “they all ran from him in great fear. ” Then one day David shows up in the camp and hears Goliath’s battle cry. He approaches the king and after much discussion, David says, “The Lord who rescued me from the claws of the lion and the bear will rescue me from this Philistine!”

So David goes out to meet with Goliath. He must think that David is some kind of joke because he calls out, “Am I a dog, that you come at me with a stick?” And he cursed David by the names of his gods. “Come over here, and I’ll give your flesh to the birds and wild animals!”

Unwavering, David answers,“You come to me with sword, spear, and javelin, but I come to you in the name of the Lord of Heaven’s Armies—the God of the armies of Israel, whom you have defied.  Today the Lord will conquer you, and I will kill you and cut off your head. And then I will give the dead bodies of your men to the birds and wild animals, and the whole world will know that there is a God in Israel! And everyone assembled here will know that the Lord rescues his people, but not with sword and spear. This is the Lord’s battle, and he will give you to us!”

Well, you know how the story ends. David picks up some smooth stones from the river, puts four of them into his pouch and one goes into his sling. He’s got good aim because Goliath gets it right in the forehead and he falls face first to the ground. God uses David to triumph over the Philistines that day.

I want to be careful not to use this story as a metaphor for me (David) and my battle against cancer (Goliath). The part of the story I love the best is that David knows that his own strength, courage and willingness isn’t enough. His confidence comes from the LORD of Heaven’s Armies-the God of the armies of Israel. That’s where my confidence rests tonight too.

With a heart full of thanksgiving,

H.

**Nathan’s been singing this song around the house lately. I think he’s on to something…

My God is so BIG!

So STRONG and so MIGHTY!

There’s nothing my God cannot do!

