Well, it was quite a week for us. Monday we were downtown at PMH to meet with Dr. Crump and it was no surprise that I need more chemo. The question is, what kind. The following is part of an email that was sent out to our immediate family earlier this week.

***

Hello All,

I wanted to give you all an update on my health as it stands currently.

Over the last number of months, the conversation with Dr. Crump has circled around the topic of a Bone Marrow Transplant (BMT). To understand this process more, Jeff and I have met twice with the BMT team at Princess Margaret and have had a pretty raw, detailed, day-by-day description of what would be involved in moving forward with this treatment option.

As you know, there is no cure to leukemia, only treatments including the varieties that I have received in the past. The goal of a BMT is a cure.

In the simplest terms, a BMT involves aggressive chemo to reduce the “cancer bulk” in my system, removing my own bone marrow and replacing it with healthy bone marrow from a donor. Currently, I have two Matched Unrelated Donors (MUD). There are of course other risks, including infection and graft vs. host disease to name a few.

Now, a BMT is just an option. The other option is to continue along with various, less aggressive treatments and continue living with CLL.

It has come time for us to make a decision, and as you can imagine, this isn’t an easy decision to make. Would you partner with us in prayer over the next two weeks as we make this decision?

***

We had the opportunity to spend some time in Huntsville, ON this week. We enjoyed the beauty of God’s creation and the quietness that can be found when you get away from the chosen busyness of every day life. We were also thankful to meet with some of Jeff’s friends from his Liberty University days. We have been praying for wisdom as we make these big decisions and God met us as we listened to His Word being preached during daily chapel services.

***

As we left the doctor’s office and I was waiting for my appointment schedule, I was reminded of Robert Frost’s poem, The Road Not Taken.

Two roads diverged in a yellow wood,
And sorry I could not travel both
And be one traveler, long I stood
And looked down one as far as I could
To where it bent in the undergrowth;
Then took the other, as just as fair,
And having perhaps the better claim,
Because it was grassy and wanted wear;
Though as for that the passing there
Had worn them really about the same,
And both that morning equally lay
In leaves no step had trodden black.
Oh, I kept the first for another day!
Yet knowing how way leads on to way,
I doubted if I should ever come back.
I shall be telling this with a sigh
Somewhere ages and ages hence:
Two roads diverged in a wood, and I—
I took the one less traveled by,
And that has made all the difference.

I am reminded in this poem that there are two paths available to walk on this particular morning. Looking closely at both roads, they are seemingly equal. But a choice needs to be made and the writer, in the end, “chooses the one less traveled by” (although he does acknowledge that “the passing there/ Had worn them really about the same,”). Choosing one road means abandoning another. And both choices lead to different destinations.

So that’s where we find ourselves: Two roads diverged in a wood…

With overflowing joy,

H.

