As I walked away from the ER early on Monday morning I had the thought… “I could really use a vacation.” Immediately I realized that it wasn’t a vacation that I was looking for but an opportunity, for just a little while, to forget about cancer, infections, chemo, drug reactions, hospitals and fevers… to escape from it all.

And I think that if we are all honest with ourselves, we all have something that we would love to escape from, even for just a short moment in time. Perhaps it is a difficult work environment, a distant relationship, financial worries, caregiving for a partner, family member or friend, the loss of someone special and the grief and loneliness that comes along as a steady reminder of their absence, a shattered dream or hope of what might have been… the list is endless and different for everyone.

As I thought more about this idea of an escape from cancer (and recognizing that in all reality it was an impossibility) I began to search the Bible for some words to bring comfort and peace to my weary heart, mind and soul. I have reflected on these words all day and I believe that they are the echo of my heart.

So rather than an escape, may these ancient words bring comfort and peace to you today.

My health may fail, and my spirit may grow weak, but God remains the strength of my heart; he is mine forever.  Psalm 73:26

But then he (the Lord) said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me. That is why, for Christ’s sake, I delight in weaknesses, in insults, in hardships, in persecutions, in difficulties. For when I am weak, then I am strong. 2 Corinthians 12:9-12 (context: the Apostle Paul pleading with the Lord to take away his thorn in the flesh.)

As always, with Hope and Joy,

H.

