***I guess that I should start by saying that I took my third round of chemo over Easter weekend. As before, the chemo is in pill form and I am able to take the prescription here at home. Let me tell you, there is something strange about taking chemo at home. I’m always reading and re-reading the label to make sure that I’ve got the right dose, double checking everything. And the side effect warnings don’t help either. I mean, this is serious stuff. And, it’s downright strange to have chemo in the kitchen cupboards.

***I was so thankful to be able to participate in Good Friday and Easter Sunday services at our church last week. Jeff and I both commented that this was the first in at least 3 years that I have been able to attend any services. I’ve been too sick each of the past years to attend.

***It was a relatively low key week. The side effects of the chemo that are most worrisome for me are low blood counts, fatigue and risk of infection. Late in the week I could feel a cold coming on so stayed in bed for the morning and it seemed to help. Yesterday though, after spending the day in bed and after Jeff and Nathan had left for the evening I realized that I had a fever. I called a friend to see if she wanted to spend the night in the ER at Ajax/Pickering Hospital with me. And we were off. It was a long night. The waiting room was full. Thankfully, I didn’t have to wait long for a room (short wait times is one of the “benefits” of going to the ER with me). Blood work and blood cultures were taken and the doctor sent me home with an antibiotic. I’m starting to feel better, and by that I mean, I had the energy to come downstairs and write this post but I’m going right back up again to bed when I’m done.

*** One more thing, Jeff and I are scheduled to attend the 2nd Trends in Treating CLL Conference in Niagara Falls sponsored by The Leukemia and Lymphoma Society of Canada. I am eager to meet with other CLLer’s like myself and share our stories.

I feel that this post doesn’t have much “substance” to it. There is so much more that I am learning that I would like to share with you. I look forward to sharing more of my story with you soon.

H.

