Jeff and I have found so many gems in God’s Word over the years that I couldn’t wait to share this one with you. It is a re-post from when we kept a blog years ago about how we all travel together even as we have different life experiences.

Mark 4:35-41  That day when evening came, he (Jesus) said to his disciples, “Let us go over to the other side.” Leaving the crowd behind, they took him along, just as he was, in the boat. There were also other boats with him. A furious squall came up, and the waves broke over the boat, so that it was nearly swamped. Jesus was in the stern, sleeping on a cushion. The disciples woke him and said to him, “Teacher, don’t you care if we drown?” He got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, “Quiet! Be still!” Then the wind died down and it was completely calm. He said to his disciples, “Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?” They were terrified and asked each other, “Who is this? Even the wind and the waves obey him!”

Jesus had been teaching all night and he was ready to get away. “Let’s cross to the other side of the lake” but as they were crossing a fierce storm started. Of course we all know the story, Jesus calms the storm and the disciples are filled with awe and ask each other, “Who is this man, that even the winds and waves obey him?” But there is one little part of this story that Jeff noticed for the first time, vs 36 “There were also other boats with him.” Jesus and the disciples were not travelling alone. Other boats followed. There were other boats in the lake that night during the terrible storm. And the men (and women?) in those boats also experienced the Miracle of the Storm. We have found that many people, families, churches have jumped into their own little boats and are travelling with us. Open your eyes to see the Miracle of the Storm.

  • *It it such a joy for me to share my story with you and to share how God is deeply impacting my life and “calming the storm”. I am humbled that God has chosen to use me in your life, in the lives of my family members and strangers alike. I am just one woman, wholly available to God. I wouldn’t change that for the world. I’ve often said that I have learned too much about God to trade the last 11 years away for perfect health and healing. My prayer is that in the middle of your own storm, that you will find Jesus right there rebuking the wind and the waves and that you will see the other boats in the water, travelling beside you, reminding you that you are never alone.**
  • *Good News: I got a call from Dr. Crump this afternoon and was given the “all clear” on my blood cultures and the lumbar puncture. He is still unsure of why I’m having fevers although it could just be a result of having CLL. Some things happen without human explanation, this seems to be one of those things. I am comforted constantly that God is the One who created me, knows my insides and outs, my DNA and knowing that is better than any test result in the world.**

H.

