Hey Folks,

There’s not really much to report tonight. I had my ultrasound appointment yesterday and we will wait to hear the results on Monday. Night sweats continue, so I’m back to waking up a number of times each night, changing p.j.’s and finding a full load of laundry waiting for me in the morning.

So, without much to say tonight (believe me, the irony isn’t lost on me…) I am going to share a quote that I jotted down a few years ago. It’s taken from a book Just Enough Light for the Step I’m On and is written by Stormie Omartian. I must admit I haven’t read the whole book, but I found this gem and wrote it out. Enjoy and be encouraged.

“Life is a walk. Each day we take steps. Our tomorrow is determined by the steps we take today… Learning to walk with our Heavenly Father is somewhat different. He wants us to reach up and take his hand, but he doesn’t want us to ever let go. In fact, his desire is that we become more and more dependent upon Him for every step. That’s because He wants to take us to places we’ve never been. To heights we can’t even imagine. In order to do that, we have to go through the low valleys, treacherous mountains, rough terrain, and narrow paths of life- places where we could easily get lost or off the track. And there is definately no way we can just head off on our own and arrive safely in the place He has planned for us. And quite the opposite of the way we teach our children, we will never know the joy of true freedom until we understand we cannot take a single step without His help.

But it’s up to us to take the first step. If we don’t, we will never learn to walk with Him. We can be so afraid of taking a wrong step that we fail to take any step at all. God didn’t part the Jordan River for the Israelites until they first put their feet in the water. (Joshua 3:15-16) That’s because God requires the first step to be ours. In order to take that first step, we must look into the face of God, reach up to take His hand, and say, “Lead me in the path you have for me, LORD. From this day on I want to walk with You. I will take this step of faith and trust You to meet me here. Align my heart with Yours”

God doesn’t often reveal the details of where  He’s taking you because He wants you to trust Him for every step. He wants you to pray and listen to Him directing your path for this day, this week, this season, this year, and this time.

When you hear God telling you to move in a certain direction, “do it”. Refusing to walk according to God’s leading will get  you nowhere. Oh, you will arrive some place alright, but if it is not where God wants to bless you, it will still be nowhere.

It doesn’t matter what your situation is at this moment. Wherever you are, God has a path for you that is filled with good things. Draw close to Him and you’ll find it. Say “Show me the way in which I should walk and the thing I should do.” (Jeremiah 42:3) He will do that and, if you carefully follow as He guides you, He will not let you get off the path. With each step He will reveal more of Himself. “Your ears shall hear a word behind you, saying, “This is the way, walk in it.” (Isaiah 30:12) So reach up right now and take God’s hand. He promises He won’t let you fall.”

H.

