So, Jeff and I travelled downtown last night after dropping Nathan off at my sister’s house for the night. We got to PMH in plenty of time for my CT scan and I was ushered into the waiting room, changed into a gown and waited for my name to be called. And when the technician called out “Mrs. Smith” I was ready to go. She led me down the hallway and introduced herself and explained that she just wanted to check the spelling of my name before my MRI. I assured her that my name was spelled Smyth (I usually answer to both “Smith” and “Smyth” and correct along the way as necessary). And before I had a chance to question her about the scan, she led me back to the waiting room to double check the appointment. After some conversation back and forth, namely that I had been to the clinic before, that I was here for a CT scan and that indeed my name was spelled Smyth we realized the confusion. A few minutes later, “the real” Mrs. Smith was called and ushered in for her exam.

That’s the thing with having a common last name. There are two of us “Heather Smyth’s” here in Pickering, at my doctor and at my pharmacy so I’m always clear to clarify my address, middle name or other identifying information. And certainly, I would have corrected her about the type of scan I was scheduled to have. If I’ve learned anything about the health care system, it’s that it is filled with ordinary people, who make mistakes just like I do. I am thankful for the checks and balances in place to make sure the right person is called for the right test/appointment, but I’ve also learned that I need to speak up and advocate for myself regarding my health and the care that I receive.

So, after getting all that straightened out, I was called in for my CT scan, was hooked up to the IV and the scan was ready to go. I usually pray or think about Bible verses as the scan takes place (about 5 minutes in length) to keep my mind focused and to distract myself from ugly thoughts. One of my favourites is “Do not be anxious about anything. But in everything, through prayer and petition, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding will guard your heart and mind in Christ Jesus.”

As I was praying last night as the scan took place around me, I was thanking God for the technology that was available to take pictures of my insides, without having to actually take a look around inside. I was amazed at this.

And then it hit me. I was speaking to the God of the Universe. The One who “knit me together in my mother’s womb”, the One who knows all the answers regarding my body, including blood counts, the pain in my side, the numbers of hairs on my head. And here I was thanking Him for the technology (which is of course good and useful, and I am indeed thankful…). But my prayers switched to thanking God for who He is and all that He knows.

After the scan, Jeff and I went out for dinner to an Indian Restaurant near the hospital. Delicious. So good. Every bite of my Cashew Chicken was great. And we had good conversations too. And so, while we can’t call the whole night a date, it certainly ended off that way. And it was nice. A quick reprieve from the doctors, tests and “what’s next?” conversations. It was a lot of fun.

I’m still waiting for my appointment(s) for next week but I’ll let you all know when I hear the results from the scans.

Until next time,

H.

