Jeff and I often talk about the changes in our lives as “the new normal”.  And so, as such, yesterday was just another ordinary day for our family.  We travelled downtown to PMH, met with the doctor and scheduled my next round of chemo. Ordinary.

Here’s a summary of our day.

CT Scan:  The doctor said that, while the report had a lot of words written on it, that it didn’t really have a whole lot to say.  The scan showed that I had some sinus congestion and that my glands were enlarged in relation to the CLL.  No news is good news and since the pain in my ears has mostly disappeared, we celebrate.

Chemo Schedule:  After my first round of chemo (January 8-10) my blood counts are doing what is expected of them. And as a result, my next round of chemo is scheduled for Monday-Wednesday of next week (February 9-11).  This round is identical to the first (in both dose and duration) and my pills should be arriving in the mail by the end of the week.  

Next Appointment:  My next appointment is scheduled for Wednesday, February 18, 2008.  This will allow the chemo to begin it’s work attacking my cells and also give the doctors a chance to see what is happening as a result of this round.  We (well, the doctors) have also noticed the trend to need a blood transfusion the week after taking the chemo and so we have just scheduled one for that day in case it is necessary.  In this way, all my appointments can take place on one day, rather than a second trip downtown the next day.  Smart thinking.  Obviously, if it is not necessary, then I won’t have the transfusion.

The Rash:  While my primary doctor was away yesterday, everyone in the clinic was surprised and excited to see the improvement in my arms and legs.  The word “improvement” probably doesn’t even begin to describe the difference, since the change really is “night and day”.  Again, we celebrate.

May you find reasons to celebrate in the “ordinary-ness” of your “normal” life.  May you embrace all that God has for you each day.  

Lamentations 3:21-23  Yet this I call to mind and therefore I have hope: Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.

H.

