**This was first written as a note to Jeff when he was travelling in Zambia a few years ago, and then posted on the blog that we wrote at that time. I had been thinking of re-posting this entry and when I looked out at the sky this morning, I knew today was the day.**

Proverbs 4:18 The path of the righteous is like the first gleam of dawn, shining ever brighter till the full light of day. 

I read this verse one night last week before going to bed. I kept turning the words over in my mind as I fell in and out of sleep. 

The next morning I looked out the window and there through the clouds was the “first gleam of dawn” and it was brilliant and dazzling and beautiful and a powerful presence in the otherwise dark sky. We are like those bright rays of light. We are the “first gleam of dawn”. YOU are that “first gleam of dawn”. 

Even on the cloudiest of days, the sun shines behind the clouds. Even on those dark and gloomy days, the sun, hidden, gives light to all the world.

When we walk in righteousness, our lives have the same effect wherever we go. In the darkness of this world, we are the “first gleams of dawn”. Together with other Christ Followers around the world, we are a brilliant, dazzling, beautiful and powerful presence against the dark landscape of our culture. 

Think about it.

H.

