Hebrews 12:2  Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.

I recently listened to a message titled A Long Look At Jesus.  In the introduction, the speaker used an illustration that captured my attention and gave me a good idea of what exactly it might mean to “fix my eyes on Jesus”.  The speaker, standing at the front of the auditorium pointed out that as the audience listened and kept their eyes at the front, that he was the primary focus of their vision. However, from the periphery of their vision, they could still see other things that were around them.

I don’t know about you, but I have a lot of things each day that can capture my attention and turn my eyes off of Jesus.  And by no means was this speaker suggesting that we should ignore or forget about the difficulties and responsibilities that require our attention. It’s just that as our eyes are focused on Jesus, these other things become part of our peripheral focus.  They are still there, but our eyes are glued to Jesus.  What a beautiful picture and goal for my life.

Now, that said, let me be clear that I have by no means figured out how to do this all the time, everyday.  I also want to say that fixing our eyes on Jesus is not always easy when there are so many other things that draw our focus away from Jesus.  All I know is that as I practice putting Jesus first, fixing my eyes on Him, that the cancer, the chemo, the 2 year old not sleeping through the night and the chores of the everyday, are easier to deal with, are less fearful and less distracting.

The speaker finishes off the message by saying that even in the worst of circumstances we can have the best of life.  And I believe that to be true.  In fact, it has been true for me in the past, and it is true for me today.

If you’re interested and have about 30 minutes, you can listen to the message here.  A Long Look at Jesus: Roy Matheson

**It should be said that as I have been writing this post about fixing my eyes on Jesus, I have been distracted and frustrated by Elmo, grocery lists, time outs… you get the picture.**

Before I sign off there are two notes points of Thanksgiving that I want to share.

I was able to talk with my doctor on Thursday regarding the extreme pain in my ears.  In no time I had a prescription ready for me that has literally taken away most of the pain.  I am so thankful.

Also, Thursday night Jeff was out for a much needed/deserved night out so it was my turn to put Nathan to bed.  I didn’t have it in me to go back and forth all night long so I decided to sit at Nathan’s side until he fell asleep.  I told Nathan that as long as he lay in bed quietly, I would sing until he fell asleep.  I started singing some lullabies but he knew all the words and sang along.  I knew this wouldn’t be helpful so I switched to singing some of the hymns that I remembered from childhood.  And so, as I sat at his side I had my own opportunity for worship as Nathan quietly (and quickly!) fell asleep.  A beautiful memory… (Luke 2:19 But Mary treasured up all these things and pondered them in her heart.)

